Childrens Corner

Children's Corner

Holy Week starts this weekend with Palm Sunday and there’s lots to learn and do to celebrate the week. You might have your own traditions each year on Holy Week such as attending your local Passion play before or after the Stations of the Cross, or staying up late on Saturday to attend the Easter Vigil Mass or maybe you plan an egg hunt on Easter Sunday.

You are probably already well versed in the 14 stations, but do you know them off by heart and if you saw the pictures, would you know them in the correct order?

If you haven’t already taken part in an Easter egg scavenger hunt this year, start planning a Stations of the Cross-themed one this weekend for you and your family to take part in on Good Friday. You can have fun and test your knowledge of the Stations all at the same time!

How it works

For the scavenger egg hunt, you will have to find 28 items; the written 14 stations, and the pictures to match.

Cut out 14 strips of paper and write the stations of the cross of each strip. Place these to one side. (see below the 14 stations listed).

Next ask an adult to choose 14 objects that best represent the 14 stations. For example, to match the 14th station, “Jesus is laid to rest”, use a small rock to represent the tomb.

On Good Friday, hide everything around the garden or inside the house. When the time for the scavenger hunt rolls around, split up and try to find all the objects.

Once all 28 items have been found, bring everything inside and try to match each object to its station. Keep a points system whoever gets the most guesses correct, earns a prize.

Station 1: Jesus is condemned to death.

Station 2: Jesus carries his cross.

Station 3: Jesus falls the first time.

Station 4: Jesus meets his mother.

Station 5: Simon helps Jesus carry his cross.

Station 6: Veronica wipes Jesus’ face.

Station 7: Jesus falls the second time.

Station 8: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.

Station 9: Jesus falls the third time.

Station 10: Jesus is stripped of his garments.

Station 11: Jesus is nailed to the cross.

Station 12: Jesus dies on the cross.

Station 13: Jesus is taken down from the cross.

Station 14: Jesus is laid in the tomb.